Harris honored with ‘Civility in Government Award’ for bipartisan efforts

INDIANAPOLIS – State Rep. Earl Harris Jr. (D-East Chicago) was recognized by The Association of Retired Members of the Indiana General Assembly (ARMIGA) with the 2022 Civility in Government Award on Thursday, March 3.

Each year, the ARMIGA recognizes one member from each legislative caucus who “Shows courtesy and respect to other members and the public,” “Exhibits politeness and appreciation for the rights and responsibilities of others,” “Communicates to develop trust and find common ground to reach resolution,” “Maintains emotional control and demeanor so as to reflect positively on and to generate respect for the General Assembly,” and “Holds the belief that the legislature is a valuable institution and that is a privilege to serve.” The first Civility in Government Awards were given in 2016.

State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville) was the House Republican winner of the award.

“It is truly an honor to receive this recognition from The Association of Retired Members of the Indiana General Assembly,” Harris said. “Every session, I come to the Statehouse with the goal of working collaboratively to achieve positive results for Hoosiers. This session was no different, and I am proud of the relationships I’ve built on the other side of the aisle.”

Read the full post here.

Leave a Comment